2013: A Year of Discovery and Recovery – originally published on tumblr 1.1.2013

This is going to be somewhat of a long post, but there are things that need to be said before this year is over. It’s the last day of 2013, and people have been telling what my new year’s resolution is. 2013 was a year of great moments, as well as great challenges. I started to learn more about myself, both physically and mentally. I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder  and Depression last June. There are many people who struggle with this illness and do not talk about it in public. The stigma on mental health still exists. However, more and more people are beginning to seek help and use a variety of methods to cope with their illness. So I joined the Active Minds club at York University, and became and advocate on mental health. There are people who call me crazy or abnormal but they are not aware of my struggle. I am not exactly sure of how long I have had this disease, but I do plan on doing something about it. There are those who are close to me that are unaware of my illness. I understand there are those who are wondering what I am doing with my life at the moment. The only explanation is that I am just simply recovering.

In a year filled with tribulations there have been moments of joy as well. I have met so many amazing and great people and cut off with the negative people in my life. I always try to motivate others in a life of happiness and positivity. I have received support from my family and friends. One blog post can’t outline my entire life, but it is a good start. I only have one new year’s resolution: be happy.

Leave a Reply

